“…Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” – Helen Keller

“Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.”
–Helen Keller

Maybe these words mean something when we stop and think about them. But what about actually implementing them? How are you at living a daring and adventurous life? It is a choice. Do you choose to go all in, as the gamblers say, or do you choose to muddle along? I know I have lived cycles of both. Muddling is easy. All in is not easy, but it does give you something to remember about your life.

Mere risk, or the slightest chance of failure, should never stop you from living your life. I know people who never take a risk of any kind. That is boring to me. But I suppose it must O.K. with them, or they would change it. But to me, no risk equals no excitement. No risk means following everyone else like a lemming. Since you are unique to the world and are here because you got lucky in the life lottery, then shouldn’t you do something with your life that means something?

A meaningful life can be easy for some and of course harder for others to define. One thing I have learned is that life is not stagnant by it’s very nature. Life means to live. If that means taking on a NEW daring adventure, then shouldn’t we do it?

As a child my mother would tell me to “go fo it” and my dad would say “be careful you might fail.”
Talk about confusing! So in parts of my life I have tried and failed. I have also tried and succeeded.
Success if a lot better. At one time I would not move to the next level of commitment because I could hear my dad saying “…you might fail” and my interpretation of it was almost like it was an expectation to fail. 

Life was boring. Don’t try because you will fail. Well guess what; my dad was not wrong but my interpretation of what he was saying was completely wrong. What he should have offered was; what ever you do, plan it, be aware of pitfalls and conquer them.

There is usually a real reason for what people term as failure. [I hate that word by the way]. If you can anticipate the potential reason(s) for failure then you can account for them, and reduce them. If you can not eliminate or reduce them, then look to plan “B” or simply make it happen.

Try it. Live a daring and adventurous life. What is stopping you?

Leave a comment